Moral vs Ethics

          The textbook states that ethics are a rational process founded on certain agreed on principles and morals are in the realm of religion. However the dictionary states that ethics are moral principles that govern a person’s or group’s behavior. Morals are a set of principles especially ones relating or affirming specified group and a person’s standards of behavior or beliefs concerning what is and is not acceptable for them to do. So what I got out of all that is that ethics is the broader version of morals. The difference in morals and ethics is the manner of determining what “value” is important.

                Personally, my values are determined from several different places. I am a Christian so some of my morals are from the Ten Commandments and other Christian values. However some of my ethics are from my parents and what they have taught me. Another way I’ve determined my values is through me and what I’ve learned over time from different experiences.

                Although my value system is based through Christianity, my parents, and myself I do realize that not everyone’s is defined that way. Some people may share some of the same moral values as I do what they may have learned them through different sources and that doesn’t make them wrong, it makes them different. Some people might think my personal values (morals and ethics) are absolutely ridiculous and that’s okay to because it is their opinion. 

Leave a Reply

