Moral Compass

     According to the textbook (page 7-9) Aristotle makes good points in the topic of morals. Aristotle’s ‘Golden Mean’ basically stated that happiness (or flourishing) was the ultimate human good. The Greeks called practical reasoning “virtues” and that these virtues should be demonstrated in everyday life. The notion of flourishing led Aristotle to believe that people act virtuously because of the moral basis of his/her ethical system, not simply following rules. Aristotle also said that behaving ethically is following three simple rules or steps. The first is the knowledge of the actions one is taking. The second is the selection of the particular act for it’s (the act’s) own sake in order to ‘flourish’. The third and final step is the fact that the act itself must spring from a firm and unchanging character. My personal ethical system is Christianity. I believe Aristotle’s virtue ethics’ steps apply to Christianity.

     My moral compass is Christ. Christ is my moral compass because of the teachings I have learned about Christianity and the understanding I have of God. I grew up going to a church but then quit when I became the age in which my mother let me decide whether or not to go. I then began going to church again when I started college. This was great for me. I resolved many of the issues I had with Christianity and God by finding a mentor and the right church for me. I also have learned and have been able to better understand the Bible and other Christian teaching now that I am older. For me, being a Christian shapes me moral/ethic views. I believe some things are right and wrong based on the teachings from Christianity. For example, the Ten Commandments say “Thou shalt not kill.” thusly one can conclude that killing is bad. The most important lesson and moral value I have is the concept of forgiveness in Christianity. I’m not perfect and I don’t live to be. Trying for perfection only sets one up for failure. Christ died on the cross for our sins. He knew what we were going to mess up, it’s inevitable. All we have to do is ask for forgiveness and it’s granted.

     One example of how I use my moral compass is praying. When I am stuck in a tough situation and I don’t know what to do then I pray about it. I know God will guide me in the correct direction. I recently was faced with the decision of a relationship. I have struggled with it for a long time and finally I sat down and was like “Okay God, what I do?” Eventually I got my answer and am still trying to realize that He (God) does know best. How this decision was reached goes back to Aristotle. I tried to understand the situation, went through the process of selecting an action, and then I am trying to live peacefully with my outcome.

     To conclude, Jesus is my moral compass because of the teachings and understanding I have of Christianity. Christianity connects to Aristotle because of the similar techniques used to achieve a route of action. Christ helps me make hard decisions daily. 

Leave a Reply

